Before you go

Do you want updates to great book deals that appear for a limited time only?

x
Feedback

Tell us what's bugging you about the website.
We're here to help.

x

A House Divided (The Munro Scottish Saga Book 2)

£2.99

Book 2 in the acclaimed Munro Scottish Saga trilogy

Ayrshire 1597. The truce between the Cunninghame and Montgomerie clans is fragile. And for the Munro family, living in hiding under assumed names, these are dangerous times.

While Munro risks his life daily in the army of the French King, the spectre of discovery by William Cunninghame haunts his wife Kate. Her fears for their children and her absent husband realized as William's desire for revenge tears their world apart.

Clan feuds, skullduggery and medieval warfare abound in this turbulent tale of 16th century Scotland and France.

A sweeping tale of compassion and cruelty, treachery and sacrifice, A House Divided is set against the backdrop of a religious war, feuding clans and the Great Scottish Witch Hunt of 1597.

This eagerly awaited sequel toTurn of the Tide can also be read as a stand-alone novel and will appeal to fans of Winston Graham'sPoldark and C J Sansom'sShardlake series.

Praise for Margaret Skea - Beryl Bainbridge Best First Time Novelist 2014

'The quality of the writing and the research is outstanding.'Jeffrey Archer

'More down-in-the-dirt than Diana Gabaldon and just as meticulously researched as Philippa Gregory. It's touching, fierce and surprising, with a sprinkling of humour.'The Bookbag

'A rollicking good read … Skea is definitely a name to watch out for.'Scottish Field Magazine

'The sheer villainy of some characters will take your breath away.'Historical Novels Review

'Captivating and fast-paced. You'll find yourself reading far into the night.'Ann Weisgarber: Walter Scott and Orange Prize shortlisted author of The Promise

'A classic adventure that grips from the very first page.'Shirley McKay author of the Hew Cullen mystery series.

'Margaret Skea brings 16th century Scotland to vivid life.'Sharon K Penman

Buy at:

This book and all of its details (links, price, title, cover and description) are provided to you as is, by its author.

One Stop Fiction cannot be held accountable for any changes to the published price. Please check this before purchasing.

Report this book here if something's wrong.

What's wrong with this book?

x

Please provide at least one valid reason

A notification has been submitted. Thank you for taking the time to improve our community!

Margaret Skea

Margaret Skea is an award-winning writer of both novels and short stories. Short story credits include Neil Gunn, Mslexia, Winchester, Rubery and the Historical Novel Society. She grew up in Northern Ireland during the ‘Troubles’, so is no stranger to conflict. Her passion is for authentic, atmospheric historical fiction.

Her first novel, Turn of the Tide won her the Beryl Bainbridge Award for Best 1st Time Novelist 2014, and the sequel A House Divided was longlisted for the Historical Novel Society New Novel Award 2016. The third in the trilogy, following the fortunes of a fictional family trapped in the long-running and bloody feud between the Cunninghames and Montgomeries, known as the Ayrshire Vendetta, By Sword and Storm, was released in July 2018. The problems and pressures posed by tribalism, and diverse loyalties have many resonances in our modern world. Her fictionalized biography of Katharina von Bora, wife of the reformer Martin Luther, was placed 2nd in the Historical Novel Society New Novel Award 2018.

View author's profile