Before you go

Do you want updates to great book deals that appear for a limited time only?

x
Feedback

Tell us what's bugging you about the website.
We're here to help.

x

Beneath the Skin: A novel

$9.51

To save her life, she must risk her heart . . .
For 18-year-old Sidney Shaw, life pretty much sucks. Her mom's a drunk. Her dad is worse. At school, she's bullied by her ex-best friend. And cutting no longer brings the relief she craves.

When Sidney is forced into group counseling, she meets perfect, popular Arianna, the type of girl who grieves over a broken nail. But Arianna has secrets of her own. She might prove herself a friend--if Sidney can let her guard down. Then there's Lucas, the sweet and funny new guy who sees straight through her tough, snarky fa├žade.

But Sidney's wounds go deeper than anyone knows. When her secrets threaten to unravel her, Sidney must choose. How far is she willing to go to protect her family? And who can she turn to when the unthinkable happens?

Beneath the Skin is a gritty young adult novel exploring trauma and resilience, the redemptive power of friendship, and how we piece our broken selves back together, one shard at a time. For fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, Kathleen Glasglow's Girl in Pieces, and Ellen Hopkin's Identical.

A Strong at the Broken Places novel, this book is a companion to Before You Break. They can each be read as a stand-alone in any order.

*Trigger Warning: Includes mild language, self-harm, and non-graphic depictions of abuse. Recommended for ages 16+*

"In the top five favorite books I've read this year. I recommend it along with a box of tissues." -The Musings of a Book Addict

"About finding a way through even the darkest of times . . . a really heartfelt, ugly-cry read." -Nerd Girl Official

"A tour de force of pain and healing." -Craig Sears, author of The Shadow Over Lone Oak

"An important read!" -YA Books Central

"Raw and realistic . . . refreshingly brilliant . . . a really good read." -Jennifer Peacock Smith, author and blogger

Buy at:

This book and all of its details (links, price, title, cover and description) are provided to you as is, by its author.

One Stop Fiction cannot be held accountable for any changes to the published price. Please check this before purchasing.

Report this book here if something's wrong.

What's wrong with this book?

x

Please provide at least one valid reason

A notification has been submitted. Thank you for taking the time to improve our community!

Kyla Stone

Kyla Stone has been writing fiction since she was a little girl. Beneath the Skin is her debut novel. When she's not writing, she loves reading, drawing, hiking, board games, and eating dark chocolate. She lives with her family and two spoiled cats in Atlanta, GA.

View author's profile