Before you go

Do you want updates to great book deals that appear for a limited time only?

x
Feedback

Tell us what's bugging you about the website.
We're here to help.

x

Literary Fiction and Soul Searching Stories

We Were the Mulvaneys

Joyce Carol Oates

$6.19

An Oprah Book Club® selection

ANew York TimesNotable Book

The Mulvaneys are blessed by all that makes life sweet. But something happens on Valentine's Day, 1976-an incident that is hushed up in the town and never spoken of in the Mulvaney home-that rends the fabric of their family life...with tragic consequences. Years later, the youngest son attempts to piece together the fragments of the Mulvaneys' former glory, seeking to uncover and understand the secret violation that brought about the family's tragic downfall.

See deal

Buy at Amazon

The Falls: A Novel (P.S.)

Joyce Carol Oates

$7.34

It is 1950 and, after a disastrous honeymoon night, Ariah Erskine's young husband throws himself into the roaring waters of Niagara Falls. Ariah, "the Widow Bride of the Falls," begins a relentless seven-day vigil in the mist, waiting for his body to be found. At her side is confirmed bachelor and pillar of the community Dirk Burnaby, who is unexpectedly drawn to her. What follows is a passionate love affair, marriage, and family -- a seemingly perfect existence. But tragedy soon takes over their lives, poisoning their halcyon years with distrust, greed, and murder.

See deal

Buy at Amazon

Zombie: A Novel

Joyce Carol Oates

$8.85

Zombieis a classic novel of dark obsession from the extraordinary Joyce Carol Oates. A brilliant, unflinching journey into the mind of a serial killer,Zombieviews the world through the eyes of Quentin P., newly paroled sex offender, as he chillingly evolves from rapist to mass murderer. Joyce Carol Oates-the prolific author of so many extraordinary bestsellers, includingThe Gravediggers Daughter, Blonde,andThe Falls-demonstrates why she ranks among America's most respected and accomplished literary artists with this provocative, breathtaking, and disturbing masterwork.

See deal

Buy at Amazon

The Nest

Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

$9.99

A warm, funny and acutely perceptive debut novel about four adult siblings and the fate of the shared inheritance that has shaped their choices and their lives.
Every family has its problems. But even among the most troubled, the Plumb family stands out as spectacularly dysfunctional. Years of simmering tensions finally reach a breaking point on an unseasonably cold afternoon in New York City as Melody, Beatrice, and Jack Plumb gather to confront their charismatic and reckless older brother, Leo, freshly released from rehab. Months earlier, an inebriated Leo got behind the wheel of a car with a nineteen-year-old waitress as his passenger. The ensuing accident has endangered the Plumbs' joint trust fund, "The Nest," which they are months away from finally receiving. Meant by their deceased father to be a modest mid-life supplement, the Plumb siblings have watched The Nest's value soar along with the stock market and have been counting on the money to solve a number of self-inflicted problems.

See deal

Buy at Amazon

Breakfast of Champions

Kurt Vonnegut

$7.02

Breakfast of Champions (1973) provides frantic, scattershot satire and a collage of Vonnegut's obsessions. His recurring cast of characters and American landscape was perhaps the most controversial of his canon; it was felt by many at the time to be a disappointing successor to Slaughterhouse-Five, which had made Vonnegut's literary reputation.

See deal

Buy at Amazon

The Sirens of Titan: A Novel

Kurt Vonnegut

$7.60

"[Kurt Vonnegut's] best book . . . He dares not only ask the ultimate question about the meaning of life, but to answer it."-Esquire

Nominated as one of America's best-loved novels by PBS's The Great American Read

See deal

Buy at Amazon

Hocus Pocus

Kurt Vonnegut

$6.67

Eugene Debs Hartke (named after the famous early 20th century Socialist working class leader) describes an odyssey from college professor to prison inmate to prison warden back again to prisoner in another of Vonnegut's bitter satirical explorations of how and where (and why) the American dream begins to die. Employing his characteristic narrative device--a retrospective diary in which the protagonist retraces his life at its end, a desperate and disconnected series of events here in Hocus Pocus show Vonnegut with his mask off and his rhetorical devices unshielded.

See deal

Buy at Amazon

The Storyteller

Jodi Picoult

$6.27

An astonishing novel about redemption and forgiveness from the "amazingly talented writer" (Huffington Post) and #1New York Timesbestselling author Jodi Picoult.
Some stories live forever . . .
Sage Singer is a baker. She works through the night, preparing the day's breads and pastries, trying to escape a reality of loneliness, bad memories, and the shadow of her mother's death. When Josef Weber, an elderly man in Sage's grief support group, begins stopping by the bakery, they strike up an unlikely friendship. Despite their differences, they see in each other the hidden scars that others can't.

See deal

Buy at Amazon

My Sister's Keeper: A Novel (Wsp Readers Club)

Jodi Picoult

$7.65

Sara and Brian Fitzgerald's life with their young son and their two-year-old daughter, Kate, is forever altered when they learn that Kate has leukemia. The parents' only hope is to conceive another child, specifically intended to save Kate's life. For some, such genetic engineering would raise both moral and ethical questions; for the Fitzgeralds, Sara in particular, there is no choice but to do whatever it takes to keep Kate alive. And what it takes is Anna. Kate (Sofia Vassilieva) and Anna (Abigail Breslin) share a bond closer than most sisters: though Kate is older, she relies on her little sister--in fact, her life depends on Anna. Throughout their young lives, the sisters endure various medical procedures and hospital stays--just another part of their close-knit family's otherwise normal life. Sara (Cameron Diaz), a loving wife and mother who left her career as an attorney to care for her daughter, is sometimes lost inside the single-minded caregiver she has become in her efforts to save Kate. Her strong, supportive husband, Brian (Jason Patric), is often rendered powerless and passive by his wife's strength and determination. And their only son, Jesse (Evan Ellingson), drifts, at times all but forgotten as Kate and Anna take center stage. Until Anna, now 11, says no. Seeking medical emancipation, she hires her own lawyer (Alec Baldwin), initiating a court case that divides the family and that could leave Kate's rapidly failing body in the hands of fate.

See deal

Buy at Amazon

Nineteen Minutes: A novel

Jodi Picoult

$7.65

In nineteen minutes, you can mow the front lawn, color your hair, watch a third of a hockey game. In nineteen minutes, you can bake scones or get a tooth filled by a dentist; you can fold laundry for a family of five....In nineteen minutes, you can stop the world, or you can just jump off it. In nineteen minutes, you can get revenge.

See deal

Buy at Amazon

The Girls: A Novel

Emma Cline

$12.99

An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong-this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan'sA Visit from the Goon Squad.

See deal

Buy at Amazon

All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel

Anthony Doerr

$8.40

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE
From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instantNew York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.

See deal

Buy at Amazon

About Grace: A Novel

Anthony Doerr

$7.46

The first novel by the author of the acclaimed Pulitzer Prize-winning #1New York Times bestsellerAll the Light We Cannot See, one of the most beautiful, wise, and compelling debuts of recent times.
David Winkler begins life in Anchorage, Alaska, a quiet boy drawn to the volatility of weather and obsessed with snow. Sometimes he sees things before they happen-a man carrying a hatbox will be hit by a bus; Winkler will fall in love with a woman in a supermarket. When David dreams that his infant daughter will drown in a flood as he tries to save her, he comes undone. He travels thousands of miles, fleeing family, home, and the future itself, to deny the dream.

See deal

Buy at Amazon

Four Seasons in Rome: On Twins, Insomnia, and the Biggest Funeral in the History of the World

Anthony Doerr

$10.92

From the author of the acclaimed Pulitzer Prize-winning #1New York Times bestsellerAll the Light We Cannot See, a "dazzling" (Azar Nafisi, author ofReading Lolita in Tehran) memoir about art and adventures in Rome.

See deal

Buy at Amazon